Waiting for the Wind to die down

Well, now that school is out, I’m pumped up to do some coastal fishing. I hear reports of guys catching 3 lb. specs and multiple limits of redfish but then I hear of guys who catch the “skunk” because of the wind and I think to myself,  “be patient, grasshopper.”  I will wait to go coastal…that’s coastal and not postal 🙂 when the big flag at Tanger Outlet Mall isn’t blowing straight out. However, that doesn’t mean I can’t stay home and do a short trip in my neighborhood lake. Such was the case this morning. I couldn’t sleep past 6 AM on a Monday morning (go figure…first day of my summer holiday and I can’ sleep late) so I got up, put the kayak on wheels and carted it two blocks to my neighborhood lake.  I decided to leave all the “commie” tackle behind and just take the fly rod. My good friend and fly fishing mentor, “Catch” Cormier told me that in order to become a really good fly fisherman, I must learn to leave the baitcasters (otherwise known as commie tackle) behind.

So this morning started with the beautiful serenity of Canada geese on the lake

Canada Geese Playing in the lake

with their young goslings, a few wood ducks. and even a big fat nutria, which actually scared the “you-klnow-what” out of me because he was in some grass on the bank and naturally, I hooked a log under the water and as I inched up to the bank, he jumped into the water right next to my yak.  I don’t know who was more startled…the nutria or me. After I saw a couple of “blowups” along the bank, I decided to switch from my fluff butt to a popping bug. Within ten minutes of making the change, I was rewarded with my personal best

15 inch bass on the fly rod

on the flyrod… a fat 15 inch, two pound bass. You have to love how a bass fights on a fly rod.  He made a couple of deep runs and then went airborn a few times.  I have had such poor luck with bass on my flyrod this past spring. The big ones keep getting off when they go airborn. So I made sure my hook set was good and played this one out until it was truly tired. I slipped him on my stringer (that’s the first bass I’ve kept in five years of fishing from my lake). I kept working the bank and I got  a few more small bream when all of a sudden,Mr. Chinquapin exploded on my “yellow popper.”   Can I tell you… he thought he had hair on his chest !! I caught another 13 inch bass and another chinquapin in the next 20 minutes or so and I realized I was building a nice stringer. I stopped to take a picture, and as usual…the bite stopped.  I caught a couple more small bream but nothing like the pretty bass and bream I had (4) on my stringer.

Big Chinquapin caught on the Fly

I decided to call it “a day” early because we were preparing for company for our Memorial Day celebration.  Just as I was pulling my kayak to the bank, my lovely wife, Lisa was making the corner, as she had been out for her early morning walk.  I showed her my catch…she wasn’t that impressed , but oh well, it was my personal best on a flyrod from my kayak. I filleted the four fish and had enough for a small fry.  I love fried bream and bass.

Early morning flyrod catch

Leave a Reply

