Fish 10, Doc 9

I got another morning off of work so I decided to try to get some video of the hot fishing that I experienced yesterday. This time, I had my video camera fully charged. Well, as luck would have it, I had more missed fish than I can remember. I actually kept count, I lost 10 bass and caught 9. I guess I really broke even because I caught a 10th fish…a garfish.

Anyway, the morning started just like yesterday with a hooked bass that went air-born and spit my froggy fly. That was followed by two more that went deep that I never even saw. I had four misses before I actually landed my first bass. I even cut the weed-guard off, thinking that was interfering with my hookups. Finally, I got one to the boat. I only landed four on the froggy fly today. I had 9 misses though. I switched to a chartreuse crappy candy under a VOSI and I started landing more fish, albeit, a much smaller variety. It was still a heck of a lot of fun. I decided to experiment with a new fly that I’ve had in my box for a year now that I haven’t used. It was given to me by my friend, John “Buddhaman” Williams. It looks like a Charlie, tied on a saltwater hook, but it kind of has a light, crawfish color to it. I knew that if I hooked something on that fly, it would be big. My expectations were right on as I hooked my largest bass of the morning (16 inches) and that was followed by about a 24 inch garfish. I had the darnedest time getting the hook out without a net. I did manage with a pair of needle-nosed pliers. So, my two-day tally on the fly rod is 21 bass and one garfish. Not too shabby!

I put together a short iMovie trailer. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

