This year’s personal fly fishing challenge.

Several of my fly-fishing friends and enthusiasts have set personal fishing goals for this upcoming year and I thought I would set a few of my own. First, I will challenge myself to catch a different species on the fly for each month of the year. The way I’m going to do that is by trying to catch as many different species each month. Then, at the end of the year, I will post on here a picture of each “fish of the month.” Another personal goal for this year is to try to score a freshwater slam (three fish on the fly in a single trip) each month. I want to catch a saltwater slam too this year. (Redfish, speckled trout, and flounder).

So, how did I do this month? With only two days left, here’s what I’ve caught so far: redfish, sheepshead, largemouth bass, two different varieties of bream, sacalait, catfish, and choupique. That’s eight if we count the two different species of bream. I did catch a slam (bream, bass, and catfish) on the same trip. I may try my luck at catching a rainbow trout in one of our stocked ponds in Baton Rouge after work tomorrow. After not catching a choupique on any kind of tackle in about 30 years, I’m thinking that the fish of the month for January might just be the choupique. Choupique(bowfin) are mean, hard-fighting, slimy fish. (see this article http://www.dailycomet.com/article/20090405/ARTICLES/904039977?p=1&tc=pg)

Fluff butt Choupique 1:27:13

According to this article, the one I caught was a male (note the bright green fins).

Straightened hook 1:27:13

The straightened hook can attest to their pure muscle.

Different kind of spot 1:26:13

Another distinguishing feature is the spot on the tail.

Leave a Reply

