My 2013 Fly-rod Challenge

As year 2013 comes to a close, I can finally post results from my fly-rod species challenge for 2013. My personal challenge to myself for this year was to catch and feature a different species of fish for each month of the year. In order to do this, I knew I would have to do a lot more fishing and target enough species so that I could save my most frequently caught fish for the “lean” months when it would be difficult to target fish on the fly, especially during the hot months and those where work, weather conditions, and family obligations would not allow me to get on the water. After this past Saturday’s trip to a local pond with good friends and fellow fly fishermen, “Catch” Cormier and Steve Robert, I was able to catch a Louisiana rainbow trout on the fly. Each year, around Christmas, our local recreation department stocks several local ponds with these “rainbeauxs” as we like to call them down here. I only caught two on woolly buggers but I enjoyed the morning with two great fishermen and friends. ImageImage

So, here are the results of my personal fly fishing challenge:

January – choupic (bowfin)
February – sheepshead
March – sacalait (crappie)
April – black drum
May – bluegill
June – garfish
July – redear sunfish
August – hardhead catfish
September – redfish
October – largemouth black bass
November – Speckled Trout
December – Rainbow Trout

Photos of these fish can be found on previous blog entries.

As for my challenge for next year? I don’t know. I may try a repeat of this year’s challenge. I thought about a bass/redfish per month challenge, or even to try to land a new species on the fly. I have yet to catch a flounder or a jack cravelle on the fly. I would like to do a cold water weekend too this year and target some wild trout. I also want to catch a redfish over 30 inches on the fly too…oh, and yes, I have a big wedding coming up this year in October! It’s going to be a challenge to get to fish when my daughter is in town…hum…sounds like I need to take her with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

