First Marsh Trip of 2014

I made my first marsh trip of the year yesterday down in Forcheon. I had thought about entering the Minimalist Challenge Tournament, sponsored by the Bayou Coast Kayak Fishing Club down in Cocodrie, but poor reports from that area combined with great reports from a buddy of mine and his wife who own a camp down in Forcheon steered me away from the other 79 anglers to fish with him and his wife.

The morning started off very cold (28 degrees in Baton Rouge when I left my house) When I got down to Leeville, I stopped by my favorite launching spot only to find that there was NO water. I don’t know if you can tell by this picture.Image

Well I headed further south and checked out a few possibilities that I had seen on Google Earth earlier during the week that led to some deeper, fishable water. Again, I was greeted with little or no water and lots of exposed oyster shells. My launching choices were dwindling and I called my buddy who offered me coffee, scrambled eggs, biscuits, and sausage. My choice was to launch my kayak and get muddy up to my knees in marsh mud while scratching the bottom of my yak all up with oyster shells or eat breakfast in the warmth of their camp and fish with them later. Oh, and by now, the wind had picked up a bit and was blowing 7 – 10 mph.

SOOOO….after breakfast….we fished all the areas around his pier in a deep canal that had been holding lots of speckled trout and redfish for the past month. We enjoyed our day, taking breaks during the fishing to get a bite to eat or drink a bit of “antifreeze.” The fishing was very slow. Between three of us we put four specs and one redfish in the ice chest. I caught 6 (two keepers over the slot) and one on the fly rod on a grey and white closer minnow. BTW, I heard that the fishing was tough all over south Louisiana. It’s just a tough time of he year. Until the tides start to not fall as hard and we get a break from the cold northerly winds, I’m going to put my efforts more toward freshwater trips (bass and sacalait).

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 9.15.48 PM

Leave a Reply

