The Gold Spoon Fly

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you will see that I catch most of my redfish on a gold spoon fly. This isn’t by accident. First, I cut my teeth fishing for redfish in the marsh on a Johnson Gold Spoon. Second, a very wise man (and good friend of mine) says “that a redfish will eat any color fly as long as it’s gold.” It’s been over three years since I tied my first spoon fly and I’ve been catching redfish on them ever since.

I got my inspiration for my flies from a guy named Walker Mangum. I use gold metallic scrapbook paper (purchased from Hobby Lobby). You can find clear instructions, the how-tos, and whys on Walker’s website: http://www.nwmangum.com/spoonfly/index.html 

Gold spoon

Gold spoon

Leave a Reply

