So Long, 2014! Welcome 2015!

This will be my last post of 2014. It’s been a fun, relaxing year. When I look at my numbers of fish, it looks like my production was down, especially for saltwater (speckled trout and redfish), mostly because I made fewer trips down to the marsh and my daughter got married. The wedding and the parties that followed were epic so it really doesn’t bother me at all that I didn’t get to fish as much as usual.

DaniNandiWED-249We pose together for a picture before I walked her down the isle.

Anyone who knows me, knows that my wife is my soul and my children are my heart.  Here’s baby Dani and me.

Daddy loves baby Dani 1 My little girl has her mom’s smile!

Pretty Dani 1
Dani and Dustin with a speckled trout from years ago.

Dani & Dusti's Spec  She’s growing up but she still likes to fish.

Dani's red Here she’s all grown up and even catches redfish from a kayak.

Danielle's redfish

Well, back to the fishing. I did manage a few firsts that made it a memorable year so here are some of the highlights:

  • This year I had my first recapture of a redfish that I had tagged the previous year. I found out that the fish hadn’t moved more than about a quarter mile from where I first caught it.
  • Another highlight from this year’s fishing was when I caught my personal best redfish from a kayak at 33 inches. It’s also my personal best on a fly rod. https://kevinandry.wordpress.com/2014/11/28/thanksgiving-fishing-trip/
  • I also caught my first flounder on a fly.https://kevinandry.wordpress.com/2014/04/22/fishing-easter-monday-a-day-of-firsts/
  • This year marks the first time I document my redfish, bass, and trout catches and I was able to catch over a hundred bass on a fly rod. That’s a hundred fish that were caught and released to grow up and fight again and that’s pretty cool.

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 2.32.38 PM

Some of my goals for 2015 are to:

  • Increase my numbers of redfish and speckled trout.
  • Make a few more sacalait trips.
  • Catch a new species on my fly rod. I nearly caught a mangrove snapper this past summer.
  • Just have a lot of fun on the water

Happy New Year to all my subscribers!

One thought on “So Long, 2014! Welcome 2015!

  1. Kevein, enjoy your posts. 2014 was a great year for warm saltwater and cold trout waters. Great guides who did help me from the state of not catching to that of enjoying catching bonefish, rainbows, sockeyes and a king. Best was both grandsons with their first perch in City Park.

Leave a Reply

