Dam it! Bass!

Well, I’ve given the neighborhood fish a bit of a break but I couldn’t resist the opportunity to fish the bottom dam again this morning after the torrential rains we had yesterday. It didn’t take long for me to be hooked up on a big bass…and it didn’t take long for me to try to overpower the fish and have the fish break my line. 😦 I never saw this one but he had to be 2 and a half to three pounds. A few minutes later, I had another one smash my fly but miss the hook. I started thinking that this would be another one of those mornings when the fish would beat me. I foul-hooked a shad and curiosity got the best of me. I cast the now wounded shad out where all the action was and let it sit for a spell. Seconds later, I hooked a small bass. It made one jump and threw my bait back at me.

Well, I remained patient and kept reminding myself, “strip set.” “Don’t try to overpower the fish.”  Minutes later, I was hooked up again. I kept my mantra going. “Take your time.” “Don’t try to overpower the fish.” I landed my personal best on my fly rod at 20 inches. I didn’t have my scale with me 😦 but it had to go over 3 pounds. It was early and overcast so my picture came out disappointingly blurry.

DCIM100MEDIA

I caught a second bass by the dam before the feeding frenzy stopped. It was 6:15 so I decided to put my kayak in and test the bream. I wasn’t disappointed as I caught a half dozen over 8 inches. The two biggest went over 10 inches.

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

I noticed last week I had a few fish that tried to inhale my VOSI. I went to Hobby Lobby and purchased (on sale) a fluorescent green which was nearly identical to the color of the VOSI. For some time now, I’ve been thinking about tying an Accardo Round Dinny so I put together a couple of those and fished one this morning. I caught about a dozen feisty bluegill on it and a couple of spunky bass too. Looks like I’ll be tying a few more of those soon!

DCIM100MEDIA

IMG_3060 IMG_3061
Cute little bug, isn’t it!

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 5.05.20 PM

Leave a Reply

