First Marsh Trip of 2016

After a second place finish in the Massey’s CPR Tournament, I was determined to get some fish entered early this year. I tied for first place last year and lost the tie breaker because I didn’t catch my fish soon enough. This fall and winter has seen some extreme weather conditions in south Louisiana. It’s been raining or very windy every day that I have been off of work. I finally saw a break in the weather pattern this past Martin Luther King holiday and I hooked up with one of my young fishing buddies, Austin, and headed south looking for a cold water trout bonanza. I planned on fishing early at a spot known as the telephone post hole, a deep sand pit right next to the highway just past Forcheon on the way to Grand Isle. I believe 4 of the top six speckled trout caught on fly rods have been caught there.

Austin and I arrived around 7 AM and I quickly tied on a deep water Clouser minnow on a sinking fluorocarbon leader. Right when I got there, I noticed a fellow in a kayak anchored right on the point I wanted to fish and he was catching trout after trout on a fly rod! I tried to get as close to him as I could without getting in casting range. After all, he had gotten there first and I didn’t want to infringe on his morning. Speaking of morning…the weather was absolutely gorgeous! The half moon gave way to a beautiful blue sky with a good breeze. The thermostat was around 39 when we launched and the water temperature was a cool 53. While on the water, I spotted two other fly fishing buddies of mine who were sporadically catching speckled trout.

Austin and I tried to maneuver into a spot where we could fish the drop off. I managed to catch and tag three undersized redfish and one 12 inch trout. Austin caught his first speckled trout ever on a fly rod but it too was undersized.

At about 9 AM we decided to leave the hole and drive south a few miles to fish the Bay Laurier area. I was hoping that the sun would warm the water up enough for the big redfish to cruise the shallow water. We push-poled around for quite a while before I spotted the first redfish. The water was so shallow that these fish were easily spooked. I did manage to spot one nice redfish that had its back toward me. It never saw me as I placed my first cast about two feet to its left. It didn’t see my gold spoon fly either. So, one more cast before I would be busted…bam… an eat! I played it perfectly, choosing to remain standing while I fought it until I had it very close to the boat and ready to be landed. It was a beautiful fish that measured 24.5 inches. Not bad for my first entry in this year’s CPR tournament. Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.05.37 PM

Austin and I scouted around and spooked a few more redfish but the wind really made it difficult to sneak up on a fish and stop in time to put a cast out in front of it.

I know some people would think that only one keeper redfish would be a bust of a fishing trip. Sure, I know I could catch numbers up in Leeville on plastics or live minnows. Why just this past Saturday, over 1,000 pounds of fish were caught in BCKFC’s Minimalist Challenge tournament. I get my thrill by enjoying the chase, if you will. Sight fishing is where its at! I also was blessed with a beautiful day and a great fishing partner for the day. It just doesn’t get much better than that!

Leave a Reply

