Fishing before “Stormageddon”

I actually didn’t know what to title this post. Fun in the neighborhood lake? Making lemonade out of lemons? Fun on my 3 wt. Anyway, we got the day off of school today because of the forecast violent, stormy weather. As I type this, I’m listening to the TV weatherman report sightings of tornados, funnel clouds, and water spouts. A tornado did actually touch down about ten miles as the crow flies from my house. How was the weather here? Well, I got out on the lake with little or no wind early this morning before the rain started.

I fished the upper lake in my neighborhood and landed 7 bass and five chinquapin that will hit some hot grease this Friday 🙂 All my fish were caught on a fluff butt under a VOSI on my 3 wt.!!  I tried to target bass but couldn’t get a hit on normal bass flies. When I changed to the fluff butt (to target chinquapin) that’s when I began getting big bass bites.

Since it was my first trip in our neighborhood lake, I took the opportunity to “reel in” some of the trash I found. What a mess! I noticed that most of it was light plastic that simply blew off decks and backyard patios. IMG_3472

I did reel in some of these:IMG_3473

and 7 of these:

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

The largest was 16.5!IMG_3471
I had 2 big ones break me off on some structure too. I’ve got to get on my vice and replenish my fluff butt inventory.
Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 1.30.04 PM

 

6 thoughts on “Fishing before “Stormageddon”

  1. That darker colored fish above with the smaller lighter fish..Im assuming the lighter ones are bluegills but what is the darker one? Bluegill..Rock Bass?

Leave a Reply

