School is almost out. Time to fish!

With less than a week left, I’m getting the fever to really get on the water as much as I can before it gets too hot and uncomfortable. A couple of mornings ago, I walked on down to our neighborhood dam and was able to get one big bass to eat one of my baitfish shad flies. I didn’t have a ruler to measure the fish but I did have a digital scale and the fish weighed in at 3.83 lbs. That’s my fly rod personal best! FullSizeRender

I was also able to get down to another local lake with one of my students and we caught and released over 50 bass between the two of us. Talk about fun! These fish explode on poppers like crazy. In fact, I think they are some of the healthiest bass I’ve caught recently. They have a lot of fight in them and they just seem heavier than other fish I’ve caught that were the same size. I plan on putting together some video when I get off of school so I’ll be posting here soon. I’ll also have to tie a few more flies to replace the ones that have been lost to angry fish 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

