Good Intentions

With a week of my “kiddie camp” completed, I was looking forward to doing some fishing this weekend. I had a church gig scheduled for early afternoon, so I knew that I would be limited to a morning trip somewhere very close by. My intentions were to make the five minute walk to my neighborhood lakes and harass some bream. I intended on catching enough bream for a quick fish fry for lunch, but my plan went array because I ended up catching 7 bass.

I started my morning at dawn by hitting the banks with one of my crease flies. These new poppers have been my “go to” flies for bass this spring.

crease flies

The trouble is, I caught a nice bass right off the bat and had two others break me off. Determination set in and I made sure the fish weren’t going to make a monkey out of me this morning. I promptly managed one nice one

DCIM100MEDIA

And that was followed by a few more. I was down to my last popper and it had gotten so mangled by the last two bass that I had to abandon it. I switched to my rod loaded with one of my shad flies and I caught this 18-inch fish that weighed right at 3 pounds

DCIM100GOPRO

I quickly reminded myself that I intended to catch some bream, so I hopped over the levee and decided to hit “old reliable” for some summer chinquapin. I had a hard time getting any bream at all on a fluff butt but I did manage a few small (7-8 inch) bream early on. The big bite definitely wasn’t on, so I decided I was not going to keep any today. I worked another point that usually produces a big bream or two and my strike indicator disappeared. I strip-set the hook and knew right away that that wasn’t a bream. I was only using my 3 wt at the time so I knew that I’d have to finesse this big baby in if I wanted to land her. After a hard fought battle, I landed this one that weighed  3.1 pounds and measured 18 and 1/2 inches.

DCIM100GOPRO

Oh, I did end up catching 7 bream that would have been worthy of the frying pan but I decide to make a bream run another day. One of those was this chunky goggle-eye.

DCIM100GOPRO

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 6.56.20 PM

 

One thought on “Good Intentions

Leave a Reply

